General Information

Historical background of professionalization

Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec (BAPAP)
Fisher and assistant fisher information
BAPAP Board of Directors
Administration Offices
   

Historical Background of Professionalization  
Since the beginning of the 90's, fishers and assistant fishers have shown their desire to be professionally recognized as workers at sea. In 1992, the Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec produced a first draft on professionalization. From 1993 to 1994, discussions took place between government representatives and organizations that represent fishers and assistant fishers in order to develop a bill respecting the training of workers at sea and their profession.

In 1996, the Comité sectoriel de main-d'oeuvre des pêches maritimes (CSMOPM), (Maritime fisheries labour sector committee) decided to give priority to the professionalization dossier, by establishing a working group wich includes representatives from fisher and assistant fisher organizations. The working group's mandate was to make solid recommendations on the standards of professionalization and the certification conditions for fishers and assistant fishers.

The working group filed a report in March 1999, thus initiating lengthy consultations with all fisher and assistant fisher organization representatives. These consultations allowed to better understand the report and encouraged comments and suggestions from the persons involved, and eventually lead to a meeting of all organizations in May of that same year. The purpose of this meeting was to establish a solid consensus in regards to the content of the report as well as the steps to follow for the professionalization process.

During 1998, a temporary office was established to prepare the registration process and the certification of fishers and assistant fishers. Three thousand of them voluntarily authorized the provisional certification board to receive from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans of Canada the nesessary information in order to prepare and update their files.

During the years 1998 and 1999, the Comité sectoriel de main-d'œuvre des pêches maritimes offered training courses in the various maritime regions of Quebec, thereby raising fishers' and assistant fishers' awareness on the importance and the requirements of professionalization. Furthermore, thanks to the Comité's financial support, the activities of the Certification Board prepared the grounds for the establishment of the BAPAP.

Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec: the BAPAP
Incorporating Act

The Act respecting the Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec was approved on June 19th, 1999 following its adoption by the Assemblée Nationale du Québec. It was established as the BAPAP, whose mission is to develop and implement a system of certification of the professional qualifications of fishers and assistant fishers operating in tidal waters, other than in relation to fishing for anadromous and catadromous species.

Under the provisions of the Act, the Certification Board:

  • issues certificates attesting that the applicants qualify to carry on their trade of fishers or assistant fishers according to commercial fishing requirements;
  • advises the Minister on any matter relating to the professional qualifications of fishers and assistant fishers.

On June 15th, 2006, Bill 12 was ratified under the following title: An Act to amend the Act respecting the Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec.

The Act defines the implementation of certain provisions of the Act, the conditions for issuing certificates, and the composition of the Bureau's Board of Directors.

The certification board shall make regulations:

  1. determining the criteria for the issue of a fisher's or assistant fisher's certificate and the fees payable;

  2. determining the professional training required to qualify for a certificate, including apprenticeship at sea, and equivalent qualifications, including experience;

  3. determining the criteria for the issue of an apprentice fisher's certificate and the fees payable;

  4. concerning the issue, content and updating of the fisher's booklet, the assistant fisher's booklet and the apprentice fisher's booklet.


The certification board may make regulations determining :

  1. the obligations of certificate holders and the information and documents that they must send to the certification board or keep;

    1.1 the obligations of certificate holders as regards continuing education;

  2. the professional conduct of certificate holders;

  3. the cases, according to the particular circumstances, in which certain persons may be exempted from the application of all or part of the regulations.

Regulations concerning the training requirements are submitted to approval from the Government.

Fisher and Assistant Fisher Information

The fisher and assistant fisher information concerning professionalization is an important and constant concern for the Board of Directors of the Certification Board. Until now, written communication has been privileged, directly with every one of the workers in our data bank, considering BAPAP available financial means and the delays of the agreements that have given it the necessary powers so that it may apply the regulations equally to all fishers and assistant fishers involved.

Furthermore, the members of the Board of Directors, who are also members and directors of various organizations and professional bodies within the sector, transmit the available information and documentation directly to the fishers and assistant fishers involved.

A great number of workers contact the BAPAP, either personally or at the toll-free phone, to obtain information, complete a file or transmit their comments and suggestions that the Certification Board will take into consideration.

BAPAP Board of Directors

The certification board shall be administered by a Board of Directors composed of seven members as follows:

  1. one member appointed by the Minister among the employees of the Government or its bodies or among persons appointed to a government department or body by a minister or the Government;

  2. five members appointed as follows by the most representative associations throughout Québec, of the following groups:

      1. two midshore fishers;
      2. two inshore fishers;
      3. one assistant fisher, who is not however entitled to vote on any matter relating to the professional certification of fishermen;

  3. one member appointed by all the regional fishermen's associations that are not part of the associations referred to in subparagraph 2.

The administrative positions of the Certification Board are as follows:

Mr. O’neil Cloutier, interim President
Inshore fisher, Percé (Gaspé Peninsula).

Mr. Gilles Albert, midshore fisher
Newport, Gaspé Peninsula.

Mr. Georges Bourque, midshore fisher
L’Étang-du-Nord, Magdalen Islands.

Mr. Réginald Cassivi, midshore assistant fisher
L’Anse-au-Griffon, Gaspé Peninsula.

Mr. Mario Deraspe, inshore fisher
L'Étang-du-Nord, Magdalen Islands.

Mr. Jean-Pierre Element, midshore fisher
Sept-Îles, Upper and Lower North Shore.

The administrators continue their mandate until they are either replaced or reappointed in accordance with the clauses contained in the regulation.

Administration offices

The BAPAP headquarters and administration offices are located in Grande-Rivière, on the Gaspé Peninsula. The office space is rented from the ÉPAQ (École des pêches et de l'aquaculture du Québec), a campus of the Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Iles. One full-time employee work there to ensure the proper opreations of the Certification Board.

During the intensive period of the annual registrations and issuing of fisher and assistant fisher certificates, the Certification Board employs casual personnel.

Informations générales

L'historique de la professionnalisation

Le Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec (BAPAP)
L'information des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs
Le conseil d'administration du Bureau
Les bureaux administratifs
   

L'historique de la professionnalisation  
C'est depuis le début des années 1990 que les pêcheurs et les aides-pêcheurs ont manifesté le désir d’être reconnus professionnellement comme travailleurs de la mer. En 1992, l'Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec a produit un premier document de travail sur la professionnalisation. En 1993 et 1994, des discussions furent menées entre les représentants gouvernementaux et les organismes représentant des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs pour l’élaboration d’un projet de loi visant à encadrer la formation des travailleurs de la mer ainsi que la pratique de la profession.

En 1996, le Comité sectoriel de main-d'oeuvre des pêches maritimes (CSMOPM) a décidé de mettre en priorité le dossier de la professionnalisation et a mis en place un groupe de travail composé de représentants d’organismes représentatifs des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs dont le mandat était de faire des recommandations concrètes sur les normes relatives à la professionnalisation et sur les conditions d’accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs.

Le rapport déposé par le groupe de travail en mars 1999 a donné lieu à une large consultation auprès de l'ensemble des organismes représentatifs des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs. Tout en favorisant une bonne compréhension du rapport, cette consultation a permis de recueillir les commentaires et les réactions des intéressés et de justifier la tenue d'une rencontre conjointe de l’ensemble des organismes, en mai de la même année, pour établir un consensus solide sur le contenu du rapport et sur les étapes de cheminement du dossier de la professionnalisation.

Au cours de 1998, un bureau temporaire a été mis en place pour préparer le processus d’enregistrement et d’accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs; 3 000 d'entre eux ont autorisé volontairement le Bureau provisoire à recevoir du ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada les informations nécessaires à la constitution et à la mise à jour de leur dossier.

Au cours de 1998 et 1999, le Comité sectoriel de main-d’œuvre des pêches maritimes a offert des cours de formation dans les diverses régions maritimes du Québec, tout en sensibilisant les pêcheurs et les aides-pêcheurs à l'importance et aux exigences de la professionnalisation. C'est, de plus, grâce au soutien financier du Comité que les activités du Bureau provisoire ont pu préparer la mise en place du BAPAP.

Le Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec (BAPAP)
La loi constituante

La loi sur le Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec a été sanctionnée le 19 juin 1999 à la suite de son adoption par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec. Elle a institué le BAPAP qui a pour mission d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un régime de reconnaissance de la compétence professionnelle des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs en eaux à marée, sauf en ce qui concerne les espèces anadromes et catadromes.

En vertu de la loi, le Bureau :

  • délivre des certificats attestant l'aptitude des demandeurs à exercer le métier de pêcheur ou d'aide-pêcheur selon les exigences de la pêche commerciale;
  • donne son avis au ministre sur toute question relative à la compétence professionnelle des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs.

Le 15 juin 2006 a été sanctionné le projet de loi no. 12 intitulé : Loi modifiant la Loi sur le Bureau d'accréditation des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs du Québec.

Cette loi précise l'application de certaines dispositions de la loi, les conditions d'émission des certificats et la composition du conseil d'administration du Bureau.

Le Bureau doit prendre des règlements portant sur :

  1. les conditions de délivrance d'un certificat de pêcheur ou d'aide-pêcheur ainsi que les droits payables;
  2. la formation professionnelle exigée pour la délivrance d'un certificat, dont l'apprentissage en mer, ainsi que les qualifications équivalentes, dont l'expérience;
  3. les conditions de délivrance d'un certificat d'apprenti pêcheur ainsi que les droits payables;
  4. la délivrance, le contenu et la mise à jour du livret de pêcheur, d'aide-pêcheur et d'apprenti pêcheur.

Le Bureau peut prendre des règlements portant sur :

  1. les obligations des titulaires de certificat ainsi que les renseignements et documents à communiquer au Bureau ou à conserver;
    1.1. les obligations des titulaires de certificat concernant la formation continue
  2. la déontologie des titulaires de certificat;
  3. les cas d'exemption, aux conditions qui y sont prévues le cas échéant, de certaines personnes de l'application en tout ou en parties des règlements.

Les règlements concernant les exigences de formation sont soumis à l'approbation du gouvernement.

L'information des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs

L'information des pêcheurs et des aides-pêcheurs sur le dossier de la professionnalisation est une préoccupation importante et constante pour le conseil d'administration du Bureau. Jusqu’à maintenant, compte tenu des moyens financiers à sa disposition et des délais dans les ententes qui attribueraient les pouvoirs requis au BAPAP pour appliquer équitablement la règlementation à tous les pêcheurs et à tous les aides-pêcheurs visés, la communication écrite a été privilégiée, directement avec chacun des travailleurs composant la banque de données.

De plus, par les membres du conseil d'administration qui sont également membres et administrateurs de plusieurs organisations et de plusieurs structures professionnelles du secteur, l'information et la documentation accessibles sont transmises aux pêcheurs et aux aides-pêcheurs concernés.

Un nombre important de travailleurs s'adresse à la permanence du BAPAP, en personne ou en utilisant la ligne téléphonique sans frais, pour obtenir des informations diverses, pour compléter leur dossier ou pour fournir leurs commentaires et leurs réactions qui sont prises en considération par le Bureau.

Le conseil d'administration du Bureau

Le Bureau est administré par un conseil d'administration de sept membres composé des personnes suivantes :

  1. un membre nommé par le ministre parmi les employés du gouvernement ou de ses organismes ou parmi les personnes nommées par un ministre ou le gouvernement au sein d'un ministère du gouvernement ou de l'un de ses organismes;
  2. cinq membres nommés par les associations les plus représentatives, sur l'ensemble du territoire, des groupes suivants et répartis comme suit :
    1. deux pêcheurs semi-hauturiers;
    2. deux pêcheurs côtiers;
    3. un aide-pêcheur, lequel n'a toutefois pas droit de vote sur toutes questions concernant la reconnaissance professionnelle des pêcheurs;
  3. un membre nommé par l'ensemble des associations régionales de pêcheurs qui ne sont pas membres des associations visées au point 2.

Les administrateurs du BAPAP sont :

M. O’neil Cloutier, président par intérim
Pêcheur côtier, Percé (Gaspésie)

M. Gilles Albert
Pêcheur semi-hauturier, Newport (Gaspésie)

M. Georges Bourque
Pêcheur semi-hauturier, L’Étang-du-Nord (Îles-de-la-Madeleine)

M. Réginald Cassivi
Aide-pêcheur semi-hauturier, L’Anse-au-Griffon (Gaspésie)

M. Mario Déraspe
Pêcheur côtier, L'Étang-du-Nord (Îles-de-la-Madeleine)

M. Jean-Pierre Element
Pêcheur semi-hauturier, Sept-Îles (Haute-et-Moyenne Côte-Nord)

Le mandat des administrateurs se poursuit jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient remplacés ou renommés conformément aux dispositions de la loi.

Les bureaux administratifs

Les bureaux administratifs du BAPAP sont situés à Grande-Rivière, en Gaspésie, dans des locaux loués de l'École des pêches et de l'aquaculture du Québec (ÉPAQ), campus du Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles. Une personne assure, à temps complet, les tâches nécessaires au fonctionnement du Bureau.

Au cours de la période annuelle intensive d'enregistrement et d’émission des certificats aux pêcheurs et aux aides-pêcheurs, le Bureau doit recourir aux services d’employés occasionnels.